Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 30

Thread: unequal length tubular headers

  1. #1
    Adam M
    Guest

    Post

    Just looking at T-Uks header and wondering why no one has tried completely overdoing the unequal length primaries and sending the outlet primary from numbers 1 and 3 almost directly to the collectors making that tube about 4 inches long compared witht he 40 or so of the other.

    I know there is theory on this as to why it needs a minimum length, but there are advantages and disadvantages to all combinations. Why has no one tried it? it would mean you wouldn't need the gases from 1 and 3 to turn through 180 degrees to joint the collector as they would never be required to point towards the front of the car.

  2. #2
    P20SPD
    Guest

    Post

    What these


    Surely the gasses would then have to do a 90degree right turn to go to the turbo?


    [This message has been edited by P20SPD (edited 27 June 2003).]

  3. #3
    ChristianR
    Guest

    Post

    Here you go:


  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    1,968

    Post

    I wondered exactly the same.

  5. #5
    22B Junkie Andy.F's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Infinity, or beyond
    Posts
    11,748

    Smile

    It could probably be made to work if you had a clever ECU ie one that could optimise the different fueling and ignition timing curve requirements for the two cylinders with the short runners.
    The optimum cam profile and compression ratio for those cylinders would probably be different too.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    977

    Post

    Maybe I'll try it, Motec M800 would be perfect for it as can do both.

  7. #7
    22B Cleaner
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Elsewhere
    Posts
    3,405

    Cool

    I look forward to seeing pat's results on his 3.3 6 cylinder project. He will be using the Pectel T6's facility to run a separate true wideband sensor on each cylinder bank.

    The T6 is pretty impressive running closed loop wideband on a single sensor on my car, so seperate control over each bank will be pretty interesting.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lima, Peru
    Posts
    657

    Post

    Pectel this ..... Pectel that



  9. #9
    Pblamire
    Guest

    Post

    Sometimes I wonder how us plebs manage to cope without a Pectel T6

  10. #10
    22B Junkie
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    "I am just going outside and may be some time"
    Posts
    12,096

    Post

    From memory isn't an M800 set up similar money to a T6? At about 2500GBP?

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    977

    Post

    M800 is indeed in Pectel cost territory ...

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lima, Peru
    Posts
    657

    Post

    But I think that all of the "xtras" in Pectel like dual wideband inputs have a "xtra" cost .....

    Carlos H.

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    863

    Post

    Six wideband sensors? Running six all at the same time? Cost? How long will they stay in place???

  14. #14
    David_Wallis
    Guest

    Post

    Harvey...

    I would guess 2..

    One per bank ie, left & right..

    cost??

    About 110each after my group buy..

    David

  15. #15
    Adam M
    Guest

    Post

    speaking of that, when is it?

    I need my sensors, yesterday if you know what I mean!

  16. #16
    Adam M
    Guest

    Post

    out of interest, when you cost the two up with almost all the same features, the basic prices of the two units was about the same.

    But when you add the other things required to get the T6 going, it just mounts and mounts.

    By the time you have it in the car, I cant see you getting much change from 4k.

  17. #17
    22B Cleaner
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Elsewhere
    Posts
    3,405

    Post

    Pavlo,

    "Sometimes I wonder how us plebs manage to cope without a Pectel T6 "

    Same way you cope withoug a Motec M800?

    Why didn't Bobs M800 comment elicit the same response?

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    London
    Posts
    702

    Post

    Adam - which sensor is it you need 'yesterday'? Is it the L1H1?
    I have a spare one sitting in a cupboard doing nothing at the moment if not having one's holding things up for you.

  19. #19
    David_Wallis
    Guest

    Post

    Its the one he ordered from me he needs..

    as per thread on scoobynet I have them all now


  20. #20
    Pblamire
    Guest

    Post

    I think the M800 in factory plug in form is much much cheaper than the generic wire in one.

    Paul

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •