PDA

View Full Version : boost control

CarlosH
5th July 2003, 05:30
If you rally with a turbocharged engine like the one of the WRX you are enforced to use a air restrictor.
It could well be Group N were you MUST USE the original boost control system, that is the 3 port solenoid (ideally) and a 32mm air restrictor, or it could be Group A were you could use alternative homologated boost control devices (like air injectors) and a 34mm air restrictor, or you can also have SCCA Open Class were you can use ANY boost control system and a 40mm air restrictor.

I have some experience with group N rally cars, and in the very best case you will get 1bar of boost at 5200rpm. Boost climbs very very quickly and in the same way it starts to fall upto the 1bar point (which I use as a reference) which commonly is at 5000rpm. Probably with a better boost control system you could hold boost "a tad better" but at the risk of making the turbo overspin, remember since the inlet is reduced from 52mm to 32mm the turbo spins faster to produce the same boost level, so there is always a risk of overspinning the turbo if this is pushed to hard.

CarlosH
5th July 2003, 05:41
But lately on unrestricted cars (that is street cars) I have been using manual boost controllers, and for example on a front entry TD05-16g if I dial 25psi on midrange boost (that is 1.7 bar) it will drop down to 20 psi (that is 1.4bar) > 7000rpm.
Now I don't know for sure if this is good for the turbo, but it does seem logical that boost drops as the turbo starts loosing efficiency. And this also seems to be the case when u use a Dawes type device with the stock TD04, boost also drops at top end

So basically my question is will a manual boost controller like this one which can be set to behave a little different than your regular DAWES (which is my favourite one as it includes both a bleeder(fine adjustment) and a ball&spring mechanism(coarse adjustment)):